Sandra Teichow’s full obituary is now on The Racine Journal Times site. I wanted to share that with you. And what a gorgeous picture they have chosen.

LAKE GENEVA – Sandra L. Teichow, 67, died Thursday, October 14, 2010, in Racine. Sandy was born July 17, 1943, in Racine, to parents Peter and Irene (nee: Fall) Heinisch. She was united in marriage to Dennis A. Teichow on June 26, 1999, in Bristol. For several years, Sandy operated her own business of putting together antique cookbooks with old photos and recipes. She also taught at Gateway Technical College in Elkhorn. In the past 10 years, Sandy had taught several times in Eastern Europe. She and Denny recently returned from teaching for Quality Schools International in Minsk, Belarus. Sandy also involved herself with humanitarian work, collecting boxes of shoes that she took to Guatemala in 1998 for children in orphanages there. Prior to that, she took a group trip to Nicaragua to build brick houses. She started Humanitarian Clubs at the international school in Kiev, Ukraine, in Sarajevo, Bosnia, and in Minsk, Belarus, where she taught. Sandy was also known for her work with the Sharon Main Street Association in Sharon and their Victorian Christmas Celebration. Sandy had a zest for life and a constantly upbeat outlook that endeared her to everyone she met. To know her was to love her. She was the wife, mother, grandmother, and friend that everybody wants. She is survived by her husband, Dennis; son, Richard Connelly Jantz of Milwaukee; daughter, Molly Kathryn and husband, Kai Jensen of Racine; sister, Beverly and husband, Robert Chudy of Prospect Heights, Ill.; step-children, Marc and wife, Megan Rhode of Columbus and Rae Ann and husband, Brian Barwick of Milwaukee; and grandchildren, Daniel and Anthony Barwick and K.C. and Alexander Jensen. Sandy was preceded in death by her parents. A Memorial service will be held at Horticultural Hall, 330 Broad Street, Lake Geneva, on Saturday, October 23, 2010, at 2 p.m. In lieu of flowers, please make a donation to the Sandra Teichow Humanitarian Fund at Christ Lutheran Church, P.O. Box 346, Sharon, Wis. 53585. “She entered the room like a fresh breeze on a sultry summer day; Her cheery “hi” and her impish grin chased away any clouds in your mind; And no matter the weather outside, the sun was shining in that room.” TOYNTON FUNERAL HOMES 210 Baldwin Street Sharon 262-736-4333

Published in Racine Journal Times from October 20 to October 21, 2010

Tonight (6pm) is the candlelight vigil. I still haven’t decided if I am going. Charlie said he would take me and my sister in law said she would watch my daughter. But for some reason I am super nervous about it. I have never been to one before. I worry about being a hypocrite in a religious setting. And lastly, sometimes my empathic feelings overwhelm me and cause me to be physically sick. But aside from all that, I do feel I am suppose to go for some reason. If I do go, which I probably will, I will write about it tonight or tomorrow.

One thought on “Sandra Teichow’s Full Obituary

What's on your mind?