Skeptic Surgeon Says He’s Been to Heaven

Standard

My mom read this guy’s book and insists that I need to read it.  She, obviously, knows my slight obsession with the topic and we have talked about it often. I have done a lot of reading and research on NDEs (near death experiences). And she and I are very close to someone who has experienced such an event.

Something I find very remarkable is the similarities between these NDEs. From a small child in China to an elderly Indian woman in America – there are such striking similarities peppered with individual details unique to each person.

I have read countless stories on sites such as THIS and THIS. If nothing else, it is very interesting. But, if you know me, you know that I look for much more than interesting when reading such accounts. I suppose I am on a life long search for proof of the unprovable.

Anyway…have you read this book? Do you have any interest in this topic? What are YOUR thoughts??

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

2 responses »

  1. About 20 years ago I had an experience that I at the time I thought was undeniably supernatural. When a similar event reoccured once, and then twice–I researched and discovered I didn’t see a ghost, but had what is known as a ‘night terror.’ It’s something that happens when your brain gets stuck in REM, and doesn’t catch up with the rest of your body. It can cause incredibly vivid hallucinations (Ghosts, disembodied hands, etc)–and many that are common across cultures. I’m know much less likely to trust what I see–our perception is easily distorted. Although a part of me would love to believe in ghosts, an afterlife, etc—the older I get, the more I learn about the brain, less inclined I am to be swayed by supernatural explanations.

    • And this is where my existential anxiety stems from – the more I learn and experience, the less likely I am to believe in, well, anything. Our brains are so powerful and complicated. I know the “tricks” they can and do play on us.

      But then again, we have people like this guy who knows everything to know (as of now, of course) about the brain and yet still believed completely in what happened to him. Same with the woman I know who had the NDE. She was and is not at all religious. Not even “spiritual”. Yet she has no doubt in her mind that this happened to her. She no longer fears death but goes about her life just as before.

      I don’t know. Perhaps I am grasping because I want so badly to believe in the survival of consciousness. I want to believe that more than anything really. I don’t need a God or a religion or a heaven. I just have the weird ass need to know that we don’t just turn off with a switch and become…nothing.

      Actually, no. The one thing I want more than that is to stop caring about it. I don’t want this to create anxiety anymore. I don’t even want to THINK about my mortality. Yet, I cannot seem to help it.

What's on your mind?

