The Bluths Are Back, Bitches

Standard

This won’t be an actual review because I would really like to watch again – in a much more humane time-span – before REALLY getting into it. Watching 15 episodes in about 10 hours was taxing, even for me. I am quite certain I missed more than I should have. So I do plan on re-watching again soon.

I will say that all the shit talkers can basically shove a cornball up their bungholes. I will also say that most of the shit talkers I have come across are those who spent the last month watching the first three seasons to catch up to the hype. They went DIRECTLY from season 3 -which was nearly a decade ago – right into season 4. And not that there is anything wrong with that…but they are not thinking clearly.

The writers – these marvelous, make-me-sick-for-not-being-them writers – had to catch up an entire family’s story line from TEN years ago. And quite honestly I think they did it in a most genius way. I think the people who JUST finished season 3 for the first time were expecting a smooth, seamless transition. They were expecting a carbon copy – like flipping to the next page in a book. Well, that wouldn’t have worked. It would have been inauthentic and stupid.

They had to update us on each character while maintaining a current plot, re-birthing old jokes, satisfying original fans (and let’s face it…we are all watching now because of us…the original fans who fought for this show big time) and appealing to the new viewers.

This show was already a love it or hate it show. Many people just don’t “get it”. It’s not their humor and they cannot see past the surface dialogue and story-lines.  As I watched and loved the first seasons, I just knew it wouldn’t last. As much as I thought it was one of the best shows on TV in – well, forever – I knew it was being screwed by Fox (who was putting NOTHING into advertising) and by society which is filled with morons who would rather watch The Jersey Shore (and yes, I watch reality TV too…we ALL have a little moron in us).

When I learned of its being cancelled, I signed petitions and sent postcards to the network (something suggested by others whom were also grieving). But nothing panned out. It was gone. I even wrote about it HERE in 2005. I was totally bummed.

When I heard of its return, I was thrilled. But also a little nervous because we (the die hard fans) were REALLY building it up. Like a crackhead who just sold their last TV – we were excited as shit. As I started the first episode, I kept thinking, “Please don’t suck, please don’t suck!!” And guess what? It didn’t.

They drew us in with their brilliant meta humor, with their inside jokes, with the SPOT ON acting as if no time had passed. They fucking delivered and I am thoroughly pleased.

My ONLY complaint (and it really isn’t a complaint…more of a disappointment) is all the work Portia d’Rossi had done to her face. Holy hell!! She was barely recognizable. And I gotta say, in the first few episodes (I think she relaxed on the fillers further into the season) it was kind of distracting. I think people are free to do whatever they want to their bodies. Lord knows if I had the money…shiiiit. But I just think it is sad because she was one of THEE most gorgeous women in Hollywood.  Simply stunning. Why she felt she needed that much work…or any work at all…just bums me out.

Honestly though, I couldn’t be happier with Season 4 of Arrested Development. We waited a long time. And I sure hope we don’t have to wait much for the next. Bravo Bluths!! Cannot wait for my second viewing!!

 

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

