Boston Bombings: The View from Here

Standard

OLB – Overpass Light Brigade – honors the victims in Boston

Sitting here on a chilly afternoon listening to the thundering downpour that is flooding my lawn has me feeling lazy with a bout of ADD. My mind is quickly jumping from one thing to the next, mixed up with a dichotomy f emotions and reactions. Boredom and fatigue with a side of guilt – a meal I will share for a moment.

(Initially I was going to share the whole meal…but after an art project, a book report and getting the kids ready for bed…I have decided to only share the main course at the moment. More to come later.)

Boston…a city I love. A word on the lips of most in these past days. The images of the brutally injured and the faces of those taken have left me feeling a toxic numbness which at times gives way to tears and hopelessness. It is yet another reminder that none of us are truly safe and that life is indeed fleeting and short.

On Sunday I took Kenzie shopping. We were talking about Boston – not really sure why. She asked me if it was my favorite city. And I said it was – I only wished it were warmer. The food, the ocean, the architecture  the history, the T, the shopping…what can I say – the place makes me happy. It may have something to do with my long time love of the show Cheers. In fact, in my wedding, I walked down the aisle to the Cheers theme song. For many reasons, I have always adored Bean Town.

Anyway, the conversation came about with eerie timing.

There are  no words I could say that haven’t already been said. The typical American citizen is feeling compassion, fear, disgust, confusion, worry…the list goes on. Sadly, what has also been expressed in the past two days is a lot of rage, presumption, panic and conspiracy.

I have seen some of the most asinine videos, reports and tweets. Muslims were blamed within the hour. Right wing fringe fanatics soon followed. And not long after, false flag accusations towards our government began to spread.

Here are a few of my thoughts I shared on Facebook the past couple days:

It is a terrible tragedy and my thoughts are with those I know and strangers alike. However, I am avoiding most media right now. It is creating nothing but assumptions and alarmism. I think discussion, compassion and some worry is healthy. But I also think some people need to calm the fuck down.

Some clarification a little later…

This should not be taken as though I am minimizing this tragedy. I am not nor have ever claimed there was no terrorism in the world (sadly, often times it is our bombs creating the bloodshed). I made the mistake of looking at some photos from the marathon. They will be forever burned into my mind. Just as every moment of 911. 

I simply think that much like in the clip above…we have turned into this fear mongering and fear obsessed society. And it makes many of us do and think bad things. And it allows really greedy and manipulative people to cause even further damage just by exploiting that fear. 

I already have been reading comments about how we need to kill these “Arab” terrorists. Or how this is why we should all be armed. People seem so certain they know the who, what and why and truth is – they don’t really know shit. 

So, yes. Calm the fuck down. Hold your kids, love your family and live as though the sun will continue to rise tomorrow because chances are – it will. Planning revenge, building arsenals, preparing the bunker…those people do nothing but perpetuate all that is fucked up with this country. 

(stepping off soapbox…for now)

PS…just yesterday I had a long conversation about Boston with my stepdaughter. Told her about the times I have been there, my family and friends who live there and how it is one of my most favorite places in the world. Today really did break my heart. But I need to step back, stop absorbing all the toxicity and be sensible. That is how I chose to handle this.

And then the next day after seeing far too much ridicudonk bullshit all over social media:

Holy hell people. You don’t know if the bomber is a Muslim or a right-wing nut job. You claim already that it is a government conspiracy? You all sound like a bunch of tin foil hat wearing morons. You are not the star of some Michael Bay movie. You are not working for the FBI. You look nothing like a Matt Damon character. So please, for the love of cheeseburgers…STFU!!!

I think that pretty much covers how I feel about that right now. And of course, along with that and above anything else – my heart breaks for those who have lost and who have had to face such life altering terror.

I would also like to share something that Patton Oswalt wrote after the bombings. I have been a big fan of his for many years. Just love his comedy and politics. And I thought his sentiments were so spot on and brilliant.

Boston. Fucking horrible.

I remember, when 9/11 went down, my reaction was, “Well, I’ve had it with humanity.”

But I was wrong. I don’t know what’s going to be revealed to be behind all of this mayhem. One human insect or a poisonous mass of broken sociopaths.

But here’s what I DO know. If it’s one person or a HUNDRED people, that number is not even a fraction of a fraction of a fraction of a percent of the population on this planet. You watch the videos of the carnage and there are people running TOWARDS the destruction to help out. (Thanks FAKE Gallery founder and owner Paul Kozlowski for pointing this out to me). This is a giant planet and we’re lucky to live on it but there are prices and penalties incurred for the daily miracle of existence. One of them is, every once in a while, the wiring of a tiny sliver of the species gets snarled and they’re pointed towards darkness.

But the vast majority stands against that darkness and, like white blood cells attacking a virus, they dilute and weaken and eventually wash away the evil doers and, more importantly, the damage they wreak. This is beyond religion or creed or nation. We would not be here if humanity were inherently evil. We’d have eaten ourselves alive long ago.

So when you spot violence, or bigotry, or intolerance or fear or just garden-variety misogyny, hatred or ignorance, just look it in the eye and think, “The good outnumber you, and we always will.”

 

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

