The Rayne Report: Golden Globes

Standard

Every year I look forward to the Golden Globe Awards. Why? Beats the hell outta me. I mean, really. Do these rich bastards really need more applause…more gushing…more congratulations? Hell no. But yet, like a fly to shit…I am drawn to the fabulousness, glamour and fantasies about my own acceptance speeches.

I would like to thank all of those assholes who called me bucky and jock-itch. I would like to thank all those guys for dumping me like a ton of bricks over…and over…and over. I would like to thank all those people who thought I was just a weirdo who wanted attention. And most of all I would like to thank that plastic surgeon who said I should just accept my Wisconsin body and be happy with the midwestern life. This award goes to all those asshats out there with a big ole side of screw you……….

They like me!!! They really like me…….

Heather…wake up. Heather!! HEATHER – WAKE THE HELL UP!!

Shit. Sorry guys. (yawn)

Anywho…I admit that I do like some of the award ceremonies. Oscars, Emmys and my favorite, Golden Globes. The GGs are always more entertaining. I am pretty sure they are served alcohol during the show and that has got to make a world of difference. The speeches are often humorous which is a major bonus. And I like that it celebrates television AND film.

So ok, ok, ok…while clearly I have not watched EVERYthing nominated, I have watched quite a few. And I will now give to you my winner predictions. If I am spot on accurate – feel free to send me some sort of award.

**When I started this post, it was my intention to have it published before the show, I mean…duh..makes sense, right? But WordPress was being super weird and would not save or publish anything so I had to re-do much of the post. Very frustrating. So I decided to incorporate the prediction blog with the review blog. So this will be long – my apologies.

The Big Screen

Best Picture, Drama

Argo, Django Unchained, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Zero Dark Thirty

(did not see Django or Pi)

My prediction: Zero Dark Thirty

My Choice: Argo

Winner: Argo

My Take: Zero Dark Thirty WAS quite good. And I feel that it is more of an Academy choice…more popular and sensational. But for some reason I feel I like Argo just a tad more. Argo didn’t have the assistance of gorgeous costumes or brilliant special effects. This film took a story out of recent history – added some additional nuances for entertainment value and laid it out there with only the might of writing, direction and acting. And I gotta tell ya, I love a movie that can make you sit on the edge of your seat AND provide burst of laughter. Argo really surprised me. Affleck really surprised me. And while I really liked ZDT as well – I did find Argo to have more than one level of entertainment and I guess I just like the story better. And I did also like Lincoln. I liked it a lot. But just did not grab me like Argo did. It was so hyped that perhaps I was expecting more out of Lincoln.

Needless to say, I am thrilled about the choice – but really quite surprised. And it was clear that many people in that theater last night were also surprised. I heard gasps and saw looks of confusion when the winner was announced. I think this is great and deserved for Affleck (who also won best director!!).

P.S. Creepy, fun fact: Affleck looks SO much like my dad did in the 70s…

                    

 

Please visit The Rayne Report for the full review/article…

 

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

