Stereotaxis/Magnetic Navigation Ablation

Standard

If you FF to about 14:00 they actually show the procedure on someone with afib. Amazing but scary. This is what my electrophysiologist wants to do to me basically….

Rockhopper.tv – Programmes

Also – here are some patient stories from the US which are pretty remarkable. But still scary.

Stereotaxis – Patient Stories

What do you know/think about this new technology?

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Answers! A Second Opinion Success « Ramblings of a Neurotic Housewife

  2. Pingback: Heart Anxiety – I Cannot Go Through This Again!! « Ramblings of a Neurotic Housewife

  3. Thank you John!! I can say that if I were to have the ablation, this is the way I would want to do it.

    That being said…I am really starting to wonder if perhaps my EP is too eager to do this procedure and that I may not really need it. I have read many stories of people whose lives have positively benefited from ablations. I can appreciate that very much. However, those people tend to be ones who are frequently in the ER with rates over 200. I was only in the ER with a fast sustained rate once 8 years ago. It seems i may have short SVT bursts now, but I do not feel them…I only feel the pause after or after an early beat. And I have been told that an ablation won’t fix the PACs anyway. So I am truly confused as to why she seems to eager to do this.

    I like her, don’t get me wrong. But she was late and then really hurried me. I didn’t get all the answers I needed. She just seemed to have her mind made up and always directed the conversation back to ablation.

    So now I am trying to figure out how to find a Dr I can trust for another opinion…AND covered by my insurance. Needless to say…I am frustrated.

    Thank you so much for your comment. I really appreciate it a lot!!!

  4. The technology is incredibly safe — most studies put magnetic procedures at a minimal to zero adverse event (complication) rate, while manual ablations have a 3+% adverse event rate. The biggest risk of RF ablation procedures are perforations (punctures in the heart wall) — which is due to excessive force from the catheter tip. The interesting thing about the magnet catheters is that they have a very flimsy (vs. rigid) structure since the tip is guided by the magnet, making perforations a lot less of a risk and the overall procedure much safer.

    Another question is whether or not the chance of the procedure having more or less success (elimination of irregular heart beat) is any better with the magnetic procedures — i think so far that it is inconclusive with magnets being equivalent in outcome to manual procedures. There then is the second question of taking medication vs. having an ablation, and that’s for you and your doctor to decide which is most appropriate.

    Not a doctor, so take comments as they are.

What's on your mind?

