Takin’ it Like a Big Girl (Hey, Did She Just Call Me Big?)

Standard

I am really working on my age old problem of caring too much about what other people say and think. Why do I have such issues with this?? My piece today on Patch is about the Walker Recall and, as expected, I am getting bashed and reamed. Too bad sadism isn’t one of my issues, because this is so NOT enjoyable. But it comes with the territory. I have had to realize that if I am going to keep doing this gig (writing commentary) – I simply have to expect and deal with the back lash. And in this political climate – it is fucking vicious.

The trick is to ignore the comments as much as possible. Especially with the stories which run on Fridays. When I first started this, I would sometimes let the things people said to me almost ruin my weekends. I try to avoid reading now. And when I do I TRY not to respond. It tends to make it worse when I do.

I did weaken today though. I allowed myself to respond. BUT I am not letting it get to me. I seem to be able to realize more quickly these days that what these people say means NOTHING to me. Who are they? Probably losers sitting in their basements ignoring their families and stickin’ of whiskey and moldy Snuggies. I mean honestly, why should I care if they call me names??

I must admit. I never thought this would be so difficult. Who would think writing about your feelings and opinions would be trying. But it really can be. Putting myself out there definitely comes with consequences. My therapist said she wouldn’t be able to do it. My mother HATES that I do it – but that is partly because she is a polar opposite politically. Charlie never used to like it…not sure if he still feels that way. But clearly it is something I have felt the need to do most of my life. There must be a reason for that. And until it really becomes too painful, I will continue as long as they let me.

Anyway – I don’t know if I just go through phases or if I am toughening up…but this week, at least, things are rolling off my back more smoothly. And maybe putting this out into the universe will just propel that feeling 🙂

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

2 responses »

  1. In this political climate, opinions are taken to mean personal attacks if they differ from your own. I don’t get into political discussions any more as it really gets me upset. Share as you will. Most people that are calling you names just don’t like your opinion. You own it, so it”s yours.

What's on your mind?

