The Unknown Grandpa – Patch

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sometimes in life you can be shaped and affected by people without even realizing it. This revelation came to me today as I was writing my grandfather’s obituary. I didn’t know him well and our relationship was fairly non-existent, but as it turns out – something about him rubbed off on me anyway. Who knew being an opinionated loud mouth was genetic?

Back in the 1970s and 80s, you could rarely open The Racine Journal Times without seeing my grandfather’s name in the Opinion section. He was kind of locally “famous” for his letters. J. E. (Jack Edmund) Byrd always had something to say and he wanted everyone to hear it. Hmm…sounds just a tad familiar. My mother has a scrapbook of many of these letters and I look forward to reading them.

My grandfather never showed much interest in getting to know my brother and I. And when we were kids, he moved out east. He and my grandma were divorced and she was very much a permanent pillar in our lives. But he was never much of a kid person. Later in life our estrangement could be equally blamed on me. I never reached out and often felt annoyed by things he would say.

As it often happens with the death of a family member, you realize too late how much that person could have brought to your life with just a little effort. Although he was quite eccentric and a little obnoxious – he was an encyclopedia of information. He could have taught me much about books, vitamins, our ancestry, history and Racine circa ‘olden days’. I saddens me to realize all of the knowledge he took with him – knowledge I may never have.

Though I was not close with my grandfather and his passing isn’t effecting me the way other deaths have, I still feel a sense of loss. Mostly I feel the sadness for my mother who now considers herself somewhat of an orphan. I too lost my father and can relate to the odd and heavyhearted feelings she is having. Regardless of the relationship, losing a parent is life shaking. My heart is with my mom and I hope she knows how much I love her.

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

