Me and My Empty Holster – Patch

Standard

There has never been a moment in my life when having a gun on my person would have helped or saved me or my loved ones in any way. And before assuming my life has been a sheltered pile of roses, I will assure you that is not the case. I was once choked to the point of neck bruising by an ex-con. I spent a few nights sleeping in a car. I walked home (near downtown Milwaukee) alone in the middle of the night several times. There have been a number of situations of which could have led me to much harm. In none of those circumstances do I feel that carrying a gun would have helped me.

Yes, women can be as strong as men, but let’s get real. My upper body strength is that of a newborn fish. Had I ever pulled a pistol from my Levi’s, it would have been quickly taken or twisted in my direction. I was even worried about that with my glow-in-the-dark pepper spray, but at least that wouldn’t kill me.

In 2009, 249 people died in Wisconsin due to drinking and driving. 38,215 Wisconsinites were arrested for driving under the influence that same year. You will be hard pressed to travel through most of our communities and not find a tavern on every other corner. We Cheeseheads like our booze. And what goes ever better with beer than deep fried curds? Well, a bright, shiny Glock! That’s what! OOooooo. And even better, let’s add in a tense, hostile and polarized community of emotionally charged citizens. That oughta sweeten the punch.

Honestly, what are people thinking?

Recently, during the Tea Party Debate, the audience cheered excitedly at the high Texas death penalty statistics. A few shouted with glee at the prospect of letting an uninsured young man die opposed to paying for his healthcare. There are far too many “typical” citizens who have no respect for the lives of others. Putting guns in those hands and allowing them to roam as though we are in a war zone is INSANE.

After the State Fair rioting incident, there were many comments on Patch and elsewhere expressing the joy of being able to legally shoot future suspects. Gun fire in the family-filled streets of Milwaukee during a riot. Yes, that would have been the ultimate sundae cherry. What a master plan.

See the rest of the story HERE

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

3 responses »

  1. Congrats, for never needing a firearm. I’ve prevented 2 felonies with my firearm. Let’s take the average between you and myself. Hmmm, it equals….an average of 1 each. Tell me, how is your life experience indicative of what happens to rest of society?

  2. Pingback: Pistol Holster | Paintball: Paintball Clothing: Paintball Gear

What's on your mind?

