What is Your Problem Anyway??!!

Standard

A friend of mine suggested to me that I may have Borderline Personality Disorder. I of course quickly went to the NIMH site to scope out the symptoms. Thankfully (why, not sure…its not like what I DO have is a picnic) it really didn’t fit me well at all. When I looked up GAD (generalized anxiety disorder) as well as dysthymic depression – fits VERY well. Too well, yikes. Let me list below the comparisons…

Borderline Personality Disorder:

intense bouts of anger (once in a while when provoked – like a dog LOL)

depression (well, yea, duh) and anxiety that may last only hours, or at most a day (nope, mine is always underlying or there for long, long periods) 

These may be associated with episodes of impulsive aggression (never impulsive -ever)

self-injury (never) 

drug or alcohol abuse (not for years) 

Distortions in cognition and sense of self can lead to frequent changes in long-term goals, career plans, jobs, friendships, gender identity, and values (none of this fits, my sense of self is quite aware and has never really changed…very stuck in my ways)

Sometimes people with BPD view themselves as fundamentally bad, or unworthy (ehhh…not really. I know very well I am a good person.) 

They may feel unfairly misunderstood or mistreated (yea, I see this) 

bored, empty, and have little idea who they are (bored, yes, empty, yes…but I know all too well who I am) 

frantic efforts to avoid being alone (LOL No way…I LOVE being alone)

highly unstable patterns of social relationships (I have few real relationships but the ones I have are quite stable and long term…always has been that way) 

may suddenly shift from idealization (great admiration and love) to devaluation (intense anger and dislike) (Nope, not at all – I am not shifty in anyway…again, very STUCK in who I am – to a fault really) 

highly sensitive to rejection (yes, very true)

fears of abandonment (sure, well, not so much anymore…but yea some of this. Of course my father left when I was young and then died when I was 23…I think that issue is environmental)

excessive spending, binge eating and risky sex (that actually sounds fun…lol…nope….not me AT ALL) 

GAD:

go through the day filled with exaggerated worry and tension (yeppers)

anticipate disaster and are overly concerned about health issues, money, family problems (Oh yea!!) 

Sometimes just the thought of getting through the day produces anxiety (these all fit so no further commenting is necessary really)

can’t seem to get rid of their concerns

can’t relax, startle easily, and have difficulty concentrating

have trouble falling asleep or staying asleep 

fatigue, headaches, muscle tension, muscle aches, difficulty swallowing, trembling, twitching, irritability, sweating, nausea, lightheadedness, having to go to the bathroom frequently, feeling out of breath, and hot flashes.

To a friggin’ tee.

Major depressive disorder: also called major depression, is characterized by a combination of symptoms that interfere with a person’s ability to work, sleep, study, eat, and enjoy once-pleasurable activities. Major depression is disabling and prevents a person from functioning normally. An episode of major depression may occur only once in a person’s lifetime, but more often, it recurs throughout a person’s life.

Dysthymic disorder: also called dysthymia, is characterized by depressive symptoms that are long-term (e.g., two years or longer) but less severe than those of major depression. Dysthymia may not disable a person, but it prevents one from functioning normally or feeling well. People with dysthymia may also experience one or more episodes of major depression during their lifetimes.

 I also fall in between these two forms of depression. I am very functional…but it is reoccurring. I just never feel “right”. Hard time feeling joy in that which I should feel joy. And sometimes I can get straight up DEPRESSED as hell. Never suicidal or anything…a lot of exhaustion and crying. And it can interfere with life, certainly. PMDD is also a diagnosis I have received and those also fit and MAY coincide with the MDD symptoms. I never charted it.

So, no personality disorder here (oh, I have talked to my therapists about these possibilities throughout the years as well…not self diagnosing through a website). I just thought perhaps I was not represently my issues very well and wanted to give a better picture for those out there who maybe feeling similar symptoms.

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

2 responses »

  1. Anger – only once in my adult life (other than with my husband)
    Depression – every day. Anxiety – yeah, it comes and goes
    Impulsive Aggression – no
    Self-injurious – getting closer and closer every day (for not I just stick to being a chronic scab picker – gross, I know)
    Drug/Alcohol Abuse – actually just decided over the weekend that I was going to start drinking in large quantities again. lol
    Cognitive Distortions – definitely and I’ve always viewed myself as fundamentally bad and that is why nothing good every happens to me and I will never win the lottery (because I’m not a deserving person)
    Misunderstood/Mistreated – not so much
    Bored/Empty/Lack of self-identity – definitely
    Avoid being alone – Not at all – LOVE it
    Unstable relationships – no, hard for them to be unstable when you don’t have any. hee-hee
    No shiftiness here either
    Highly sensitive to rejection – DEFINITELY
    Fear of abandonment – not so much
    Excessive spending – yes, Binge eating – yes, Risky sex – not so much anymore but in college probably. though it would be fun.

    I really think I’m bi-polar but play down those symptoms with the doc because I don’t want that label.

    Definitely the GAD (though I didn’t think it applied for me)

    I’m surprised that you are never suicidal – I frequently envision me offing myself. I wonder why that isn’t an issue for you.

    • I know what you mean, but I don’t think the BiPolar label is any worse or scary or weird these days. Almost seems even more common really.

      I have never been to the point where I was seriously considering suicide. Well, maybe a short time after the accusation. But that was situational. But have I envisioned it in some way or made stupid comments in a bad time..yea. But I would never say suicidal.

What's on your mind?

