Donuts for the Teachers

Standard

Yesterday before work I delivered 200 Munchkins from Dunkin Donuts and the poem below to the teachers at Gifford Elementary School. As I blogged the other day, they printed a letter to the community (written by 56 Gifford teachers) regarding their position on the “Budget Repair Bill”. I wanted to show my appreciation and solidarity. I hope they enjoyed them 🙂

I also waited on a Sheriff during lunch yesterday. I extended my hand and said, “I am trying to make it a point this week to thank our public employees…so, thank you.” He shook my hand and kind of chuckled and said thank you.

Showing gratitude makes one feel better. So, if for no other reason…thank a public employee and absorb the endorphins 🙂

Anywho…this was my poem to The Gifford 56 (I couldn’t resist giving them this title) but it also applies to all teachers everywhere:

Because of you
My kid reads, she writes
You wipe up tears
You break up fights

You guide their way
You create a path
Really, who the heck else
Could teach this crazy math

You spend your time
Your energy, your money
Too much to count
Isn’t that funny

You make too much
You’re entitled and thugs
Don’t you all know you
Sip from golden mugs

Don’t listen to them
You listen to me
I know what I say
I’m smart you see

I’ve learned a lot
In my thirty plus years
And I learned the most
From your public peers

Thank you so much
This is no parody
You have my gratitude
And my solidarity

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

