What Do I Want To Do When I Grow Up?

Standard

I wrote this on a local blog this morning and I thought I would continue my wave of thought here…

I have been thinking lately how wasteful college can sometimes be…I cannot think of anyone who actually works in the field for which they received a degree. I mean, are we basically just expected to pay 10s of thousands of dollars so our kids can get wasted and have sex? I know, I know. Much is learned in college – both educationally and socially. But it is seeming more and more like a waste to me. I think secondary schooling should be more focused on a single area without having to take all the other BS classes. Make is cheaper, more attainable, shorter and easier to change later in life as the economy changes. Many people are having to gain an education/training in fields completely different than those they had been working for the past 20 years.
Just thoughts floatin’ thru my head as I consider finishing my degree for what seems to be no reason at all at this point.

 

Seriously though…I need to figure out what I am going to do with my life. Cassidy will be starting Kindergarten in less than a week. For her entire life she has been here with me all day everyday. There were brief periods when she went to a drop in daycare for a few hours a week…but those were short lived. Last year she went to K4 which was 4 hours a day 4 days a week. Now, she will be gone from 9am until 4:30pm Monday through Friday. All summer I thought it was months away. Some how, my mind forgot that time moves forward and now seemingly suddenly we are down to 5 days. How did this happen so quickly? Not only am I going to experience the growth and Independence of my itty bitty 6 year old (well, almost 6), an “empty nest” situation and a sudden lonliness…but also this precipitous need to figure out what I want to do with my life. Dude. I am not ready.

So, what do I do? I probably have 2 full years left to get my degree…in what, who knows. Get a job? I do apply whenever I see something appropriate. I cannot work in any healthcare or educational or childcare fields. I get turned down consistently for positions in which I am highly qualified. I know CCAP has something to do with that. Do I stay at home and bake cookies and continue writing a blog which is rarely read or commented on for no income whatsoever? Cookies will not help the weight issue. I have been toying with the idea of starting my own business. But I cannot get a grasp on what kind of business…I feel there is nothing at which I am truly talented. And I have NO money. They say you need money to make money and that really is so true.

Have you ever been in this kind of situation? How did you handle it? Any suggestions even if you haven’t??

 

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

One response »

  1. I know how you feel! When my kids were finally all in school I went through the same thing. I got a job doing bookkeeping at a hotel and enjoyed feeling more than just a mom. Then we moved and I just never got a job afterward.

    I still needed to feel like my own person though so I started my websites. I do often think about going back to work but my life is too busy for that right now.

    My life is so crazy that I don’t know if I have ever asking you if you would like some info on making money from your blog. If you ever want to talk you can email me.

What's on your mind?

