Mosque…Enough Already.

Standard

The other day I was talking to my husband about the proposed Mosque which may be built near ground zero in New York. HERE is a story which can catch you up if you have been under a rock for the past few weeks. I had mentioned that I was getting pretty tired of the debate and the spewing of hatred and racism coming from said debate.

I understand the opposers’ point of view. I do not agree with it, but then again…I was not in NY that day, I did not lose anyone to the tragedy and I was not directly effected (not any differently than any other American). I do understand that people think it is insensitive and a slap in the face to the victims and their families. I get it. And I support the right for these people to protest the building of this Mosque. HOWEVER…Yesterday pushed me over the proverbial edge. I was listening to WRJN, a local talk radio station – a call in show, Sound Off. A woman called in and floored me. She said that Muslims are nothing but terrorists and if we allow for this mosque to be built “they” will just keep coming in droves and basically take over the country. She also felt it necessary to add that “Barack Hussein Obama” was a Muslim and there was no doubt about it. She said we needed educated ourselves and check out the “internet” (lol) for the real truth on this. Oh my. It didn’t upset me that there was this one crazy lady out there (not far from me I might add…scary) but that I know there are tons more from where she spawned.

When our country was in the midst of the cold war…Russia was our enemy. In this country it ensued a wave of racism and prejudice against Russia or any citizens who happened to reside in a communist country. Blacklisting, McCarthyism – ridiculous pursuits to perpetuate this racism and fear was abundant.

After the bombing of Pearl Harbor, Japanese Interment orders were made across the United States due to the racism and retaliation against Japanese Americans. These citizens had to be alienated from the rest of the population due to hatred and fear.

And after 9/11, the same kind of intolerance and misunderstanding has led to the persecution of a group of people – Muslim Americans – because so many people fail to see that being Muslim does NOT equal terrorist. And I feel that this is a big reason for the decision to build the Mosque so close to ground zero. The Muslim community was also greatly affected by the horrifying acts on that September 11th. They have been criminalized in the eyes of many Americans since then and to this day. Perhaps they seek to help Americans gain an understanding of their religion and its separation from the acts of radical terrorists.

Well, when speaking to my husband that day, I happened to mention that the unfair Muslim comparison to terrorists is no different than comparing all Catholics to pedophiles. So, when watching The Daily Show this morning, I had to applaud when Jon Oliver made the same point – only funnier. The video is below.

I just want to add one more thing…when I hear people speak the way they do, when I see the actions they take to stand in the way of what is fundamentally right…I start to really lose hope for this country. We seem to be very slowly evolving creatures. Too slow. We resist it. We seem to want to stay in this pile of hate, discontent and anger. Why is that?

Vodpod videos no longer available.

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

6 responses »

  1. Would we have let Japan build a memorial at the site of Pearl Harbor? Common sense would say “no”. Do you care to know who is funding the Mosque? Don’t you feel this is completely insensitive and would be better if it were built elsewhere? If they are insistent on it being built there even if offered other sites that would serve the purpose equally, does that not raise red flags for you? Could this not be a monument to a “conquered site” in America in the eyes of Islamic radicals (and they do exist, Heather)? This is not a racial issue. This is a site in America that was attacked by terrorists and Americans died here. Do you want to see those same groups who funded those terrorists fund this mosque? Do you think we should make damn sure we know who is funding this thing and why it absolutely has to be on that site even though it defies all logic and sensitivty? Did you see the cover of Time magazine? This is how the radical Islamics treat women. We need to know who is involved in this mosque and who will be welcome there once it’s built.
    As for the Russians and the Cold War, I had to wear an ID bracelet when I was a kid in case we were bombed and we learned how to take cover under our school desks during the Cuban Missle crisis. This was Russia and Cuba. Do you want to live in a Communist country, Heather? I know, I don’t. That was not a racial issue either, by the way.

    • Your answer is all based in fear. And why? Because Fox News tells you to be afraid? The point I was making is that it shouldn’t be offending as the Muslim religion isn’t the culprit of 9/11. But they have been retaliated against as if that were true and they have suffered due to 9/11 because of that alone. Why does it have to be built there and who is funding it, I do not know. Do you? I think it is a silly move in their part if they are seeking to become more accepted. But individuals and groups have had to make stands and noise in the past to gain respect (MLK, Rosa Parks, Gloria Steinem, etc…) Abortion clinics were bombed in the name of Jesus which killed doctors and staff. Should we stop churches from being built near the homes of the victims families because it would be insensitive? And yes, I hate how other countries, religions and cultures allow women to be treated. Because of that alone, I would just have to hope that many of them could find a way to America. But as long as the people in those countries put up with it and believe in it…there is really not much we can do I guess. I understand what you are saying and you have good points. I just do not agree with all of them, MOM.

      P.S. Why does your first comment on my site have to be argumentative? Couldn’t you throw a nice one in about something stupid first?? 🙂

  2. “I’d like to point out to the crazy Muslim-haters that most New Yorkers are all for the Mosque being built near ground zero.”

    hmmmm…. I am curious where it is stated that “most New Yorkers are all for the Mosque being built near ground zero.” I for the life of me cannot find that stated anywhere. I did however check several news sources and found the following polls. The poll numbers do vary slightly from news source to news source, however they do not indicate at all that “most New Yorkers are all for the Mosque being built near ground zero.”
    Below are the links that show an overwhelming opposition to the Mosque being built near ground zero by New Yorkers. I think it is statements posted by the individual above to be the most dangerous, not based on fact, but opinion. In fact, most of the polls indicate that Americans do respect the right of the Mosque being built, but insensitive to build at a site where so many innocent American lives were taken on 9/11/2001. Just because you do not support the Ground Zero Mosque does not mean you are racist or a “crazy Muslim-hater” as stated above.

    http://religion.blogs.cnn.com/2010/08/11/cnn-poll-most-oppose-mosque-near-ground-zero/

    http://www.msnbc.com/id/38754373

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/08/18/AR2010081801977.html

    http://www.foxnews.com/us/2010/08/13/fox-news-poll-percent-think-wrong-build-mosque-near-ground-zero/

    • I, myself, have no clue what New Yorkers think or feel. I won’t pretend to guess as I don’t even KNOW anyone from NY. But the polls do not surprise me. I also do not know how much stock I hold in polls to begin with. At one time polls would probably reflect that people “feel” uncomfortable with blacks marrying whites…didn’t make it right. I do not really understand why they would WANT their mosque there as it will be a focus of protest for a long, long time. But I feel they have a right to build it there if they so chose. It wasn’t only white, Christian Americans who were hurt by 9/11. Perhaps building their place of worship there in the midst of ignorance and intolerance of their religion is healing for them. Who are we to stop that?

    • The positive first. I think you are very talented to be able to make a site like this and I’m proud of you for being able to express yourself so well, whether or not we agree on everything. And, you are correct that I am fearful. We must never let our guard down while terrorists exist who want us dead. Especially, since they succeeded in attacking us and killing thousands on our own soil. I am afraid for my country, my children and my grandchildren. I don’t need FOX news to tell me that I need to be concerned with the direction that this country is heading. At least I get the news! Not the lefty airbrushed version from some of the other stations. Let’s once again agree to disagree. I can live with that.

  3. I’d like to point out to the crazy Muslim-haters that most New Yorkers are all for the Mosque being built near ground zero. There is a need for social healing and these people understand that this is a good first step. It is amazing how ignorant people can be, but to really drive that point home, a member of my family…a person who was a young adult in the 80s still thinks Russians are barbarians who eat each other. And I’m NOT joking.

    That Mosque is a message not only to Muslim Americans, but also to the terrorists. We will remember, but we will heal. We will pick up and rebuild. We will not be broken. The crazy people need to see it that way too.

What's on your mind?

