Sidewalks to Anywhere

Standard
We have no sidewalks in our neighborhood. I live in a subdivision with lots of curves, turns, gravel and ditches. The kids need to stay close to the grass so the speeding dare devil teenagers do not squish them while walking home from the bus stop. It’s just not the same as it was when I was a kid. Our sidewalks were to be appreciated. They were our playground, our safety, our home turf, our path to anywhere. Hopscotch was an old fav and hell, screw the chalk…we used a rock! Imagine that. We would put on entertaining shows for our mom and grandmother as we used the cement blocks in the front of our house as our very own stage. We could race around the block without ever worrying about being hit by a passing car. And our sidewalks took us to parks, schools, stores, the movie theatre, the zoo, the beach. And as far as our little smelly feet could take us – the sidewalk was our yellow brick road. While we may no longer break our mother’s back by stepping on a crack…our neighborhood just doesn’t have that same homey appeal. Neighborhoods need sidewalks. I hereby protest the gravel walkways causing pebbles in my shoe and dust upon my jeans. For now I shall dream of a future neighborhood surrounded by these little foot roads that quietly and unnoticeably made my childhood just that much more cool.
About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

