Dark Fields and Pershing – Glad You Asked

Standard
A Racine Journal Times reader asks:
 
"Does the city have any plans for new lighting for the Pershing Park Soccer Field? I believe it’s been 2-3 years that the soccer field has been without working lights.  It would sure be nice if the High School kids could play night games under the lights again."
 
Here is the link to the online segment:
 
 
 
And here is my answer:
 

I spoke with Donnie Snow, Director of Racine Parks Department, who claims that they do have intentions of having lights at Pershing Park Field. He, however, does not have any time frame in which this may happen. Discussions regarding the funding, time and materials are in the works.

 

With sunset being past 8pm these days, I suppose an earlier game would be necessary down by the lake. You could still consider that a night game I suppose.  But that does take that excitement out of those flood lit fields surrounded by dark skies and black waters. I remember games like that when I was a teen. And come to think of it – it did make the whole moment that much more enthralling…even for a not-so-sports fan.

 

Perhaps those interested could contact the parks department with their ideas and even donations of money, time and services to shed some light on that field sooner than later. Just a thought.

 
 
About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

