Thursday May 31, 2007

Standard

On Sunday we (my husband, mom, step father and daughter) went to Burlington’s Chocolatefest. I had never been there before and it was a pretty nice time. Typical carnival-type atmosphere. We played some games (I won a small froggie for Cass). Cassidy went on a few rides. We ate some yummies. Bought some chocolate. And I attempted to be hypnotized.  Yes, you heard right. There was a hypnotist there by the name of Chris Carter. I guess he is there every year and my parents always talked about what a funny show it was and how he got the participants to do all this hilarious stuff. So when he asked for audience volunteers, I raised my hand and was chosen. I was VERY nervous for some reason. I don’t get anxious being on stage on in front of a crowd and I wasn’t even afraid of making a fool of myself…I think it was just the unknown of being hypnotized and not knowing how I would react.

 

I really tried to follow his instructions completely. I waited and waited and as I watched as other people appeared to be going ‘under’…I knew that for me, nothing was happening. I did feel sort of meditative and relaxed. But not at all hypnotized. Neither was the guy next to me. We were both older than the rest of the participants. But the guy on the other side of me was the star of the show. Chris Carter told him that whenever he said a certain word he was to sneak around the stage and steal everyone’s shoes and hide them in his shirt. Sure enough – he did it. He also preformed as Elvis. Thing was, before the show, he turned to me and asked, “What if it doesn’t work – are we suppose to fake it?” I just said I had no idea. Though I knew I wouldn’t fake it…which I didn’t.

 

After the show I talked to the Elvis kid and he said he faked the whole thing.

 

Poo poo. I was sorta disappointed. I thought it would be a fun experience to be hypnotized. Oh well. At least I had lots of chocolate J

 

Cassidy had a blast and that was so fun to see. She loved the rides and had no fear going on them alone. She did not like the mini roller coaster (for toddlers) though. It jerked her around too much. I wouldn’t have liked it either. She didn’t cry or anything. She just announced loudly in the middle of the ride “I’m done NOW!!”

 

Other than that – not much else going on. I have to get some CD reviews written for Valley Scene Magazine. I need to do some laundry. And we are trying to choose what home improvement task to take on. Either tear out our cement patio in the back and build a wood deck or get carpet for the basement so it can finally be finished. We are also putting a fence around the back yard so the kids can play without Cassidy constantly escaping to the front yard. Ugh. I hate spending money. But things gotta get done, right??

 

There are a few other things I would like to talk about…but I think I will do those in separate blogs.

 

I hope everyone has a wonderful day J

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

One response »

What's on your mind?

