Brandi Carlile – Valley Scene Magazine

Standard
This is a CD review I wrote for Valley Scene Magazine (based in California). This is my first magazine publication. And here is the link to the online article:
 
 
 

Close to 15 years ago, I received a CD for Christmas called Fruit of Life by The Wild Colonials.  Throughout these past years it has been a staple in my short list of go-to tunes.  I would play it over and over – not a usual occurrence for my easily bored ears.  Fast forward to Spring of 2007, a new female vocalist has bumped onto that go-to list and has been playing non-stop in my car since receiving it. That album is The Story by Brandi Carlile.

 

Brandi Carlile must find it difficult to describe her music with a particular shade of genre. Is it possible she has created her own like few before her? Her powerful pipes and pain ridden lyrics gives us all a relatable voice shouting out all that which we wish we could. Authentically poetic words are spun like gold through her powerful lungs and possibly wounded heart. Each of the fifteen tracks is musically original, thus making the boring impossible. One minute the car next to you (because you will have it loud enough for them to hear) may think you are listening to modern country and the next minute, pure women’s folk. And don’t leave out the rock and alternative moments that have your head bobbing as though a spring in your neck has snapped.

 

This CD has made it into my small collection that stays in my player indefinitely and needs to become part of your musical library. Brandi, along with her brothers, Tim and Phil Hanseroth and other musicians who collaborated with her on this CD (Josh Neumann, Matt Chamberlain, David Palmer, Keefus Ciancia and special guests Amy Ray and Emily Sanders – of Indigo Girls fame) have all created this musical blast which I am fanatically thrilled to have come across.  

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

One response »

  1. Hi,Do you need advertising displays, digital signages, ad players, advertisement player and LCD advertisings? Please go Here:http://www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:http://www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[cjbjaggibeeecjh]

What's on your mind?

