Please read…

Standard
Today I was told by several people on a local blog site that it was "dangerous" or "nuts" or "irresponsible" to have pictures on my public website. In fact it seems many think that having a public website in the first place is crazy…especially one as personal as mine.
 
It is true…I do share a lot. Not all – trust me…but a lot. I have always been sort of proud of that. I felt I had nothing to hide, nothing to be afraid about sharing or ashamed in anyway.
 
This website has brought joy into my life. Especially during times when I felt no one could hear me…no one really understood. I could share it with the universe in this strange intangible place. I felt a lot of relaxation in that. It was/is my outlet. My only outlet.
 
I have come into contact with many people whom I haven’t heard from in years because of this blog site. What a great gift.
 
I have connected with others who would email me to tell me thank you for writing about a certain issue because they could relate and for so long they felt alone. Another wonderful opportunity.
 
I have been contacted by newspapers and even the Montel Williams Show – simply because of what I have written here in my little laptop galaxy. Dreaming of being a writer one day, exposure is definitely a plus.
 
And I have had the chance to communicate with people that I do not often speak to, never speak to, or cannot speak to….again, through my blogs.
 
I don’t know if I am ready to give all of that up. I do not know if I should. For now, I have taken down my pictures. I never felt at risk having them there. I always felt it was no different than allowing your children in public. Or writing a letter to the editor. People can find you easily these days…information is very accessible. However, I was made to feel as though I was doing something very wrong and I need time to think about this. If any of you reading have an opinion…please….let me know. I would love to hear from anyone on this.
 
 
***UPDATE***
As you can see, I decided to put the pictures back up. I may change my mind in the future as I gather more opinions and read about the actual dangers vs. paranoia. Thank you to all who have contacted me about this.
About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

5 responses »

  1. Wow, let me 1st comment on the judgemental pathetic shit-talker who must be in her early teen or pre-teen years.  To you: the only person you’re making look bad is yourself.  Maybe you should stop spending all of YOUR time looking at someone else’s website.
     
    Now that I got that out of the way I can say what I came here to say.  Yes, there are sick people everywhere, but is having a personal blog and personal pictures on a public website dangerous?  I suppose its no more dangerous than taking your kids out in public because sickos don’t only exist on the web, they exist out there in the real world too. So should you never take your kids out of the house?  I don’t think so.  You’re not putting inappropriate pictures, your address, or phone number out there, so I don’t see much danger with having your site public.  As I said in the email I sent you, I can relate to the personal satisfaction that comes from writing and posting your own ideas for other humans to interact with.  I think its refreshing how open you are in your postings and whether you are giving too much info is really up to you.  Like I said, I havn’t read or seen anything on your site that made me think you were putting anyone in danger, but that’s a decision you’ll have to untimately make yourself. 
     
    One last thought here, I had a shit-talker posting on my site too.  At first I tried to reason with her, but she was beyond that so I ended up locking her out.  You might want to think about doing the same thing.
     
    I don’t know why my name isn’t showing up at the top, so I’ll just add it here.
    John B.

  2. LOL. Unreal. I just found out that this woman is a member of a group called The Racine Family Club. I was actually tempted to join at one time. I am sure most of the ladies there are very nice…but this one tarnishes the whole picture of the group (and I am not the only one who thinks so).
    Here is what is so hilarious. Check out this PUBLIC website for her group… http://www.racinefamilyclub.org/ there are pictures of kids right there on the front page…flippin hypocrite loser.
     

  3. The previous comment was made by a troll from another website who often goes on that other website with different names and even argues with herself (not realizing people can see her IP address). She has been following me around and has been on this very website for HOURS all weekend. While I give credit to anyone who shares their opinon and am open to all opinions – – this woman is indeed in need of help and I truly wish her and her family the best.

  4. Why would you put your kids photos of this space.  Don’t you know that there are sick people out in the world that want to hurt you and your kids.  Instead of putting all your work into your website I think you might want to work on fixing your marriage.

What's on your mind?

