Bunk Rules for Primary Voting

Standard

Here is the link to the online letter in The Milwaukee Journal:

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4196/is_20060920/ai_n16735485

 

To the Editor:

 

I would like to know the reason behind the primary voting process that insists you chose one party and you can only vote one party.  I think that this country being so divided into these groups “Republican” vs. “Democrat”; “Red” vs. “Blue”…it doesn’t help build a united government or society. I understand that some of the party’s ideals are vastly different. But a person shouldn’t have to choose sides. I have been known to vote for both Democratic and Republican candidates in my time. And though it doesn’t happen often, I feel we should have that choice in primary elections as well. If a person happens to be pulling for a particular candidate on the Democratic side and also pulling for a particular Republican candidate, they should be able to vote for both of those people.

 

I personally vote for the individual candidate and never for a party. Usually my votes tend to go Democratic because my priority issues are typically shared by that party. However, I look at each candidate, their personal stance on the issues, their history, and then I make my choice.  I believe that this partisan run government causes more troubles and takes away from the issues that need to be dealt with and solved.

 

Can we not just get rid of the Red or Blue masks and simply vote for the right person for the job?

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

2 responses »

  1. Question:  If I am a registered Democrat and vote Republican in the Primaries will my vote be canceled out? Is this true for the general election also?   I live in Maryland

  2. Hi I’m trying to clear up something.  If I am a registered Democrat and I decide to vote for a Republican in the Primaries – does my vote get counted?  Or is it canceled out?Is this also true for general elections.  I live in Maryland.

What's on your mind?

