Lady in the Water – A Review

Standard
 

I am not a huge fan of scary, horror type movies. And the trailers for Lady in the Water certainly leaned towards this type of movie. But I desperately was in need of a cool afternoon to myself and a movie is my favorite way of accomplishing this. So, the best film to choose from was indeed Lady in the Water .

 

First thing I need to make clear; this was NOT a horror movie by any means. It had a few jump in your seat gasping moments, but horror – not by a long shot.

 

I try to write my reviews sans spoilers, so don’t expect a synopsis here. I also want you to take from this movie your own belief and emotions. What I will tell you is that I believe this movie was about a purposeful life. We all have meaning and are all here for a reason. Our purpose may never be recognizable, but can be fulfilled just the same. We all have something to contribute to the earth, to the universe, to the system of life. I believe this film was telling us that we need to pay attention, to listen to our hearts and live a life of true authenticity.

 

The world is constantly trying to show us the path. We simply need to open our minds and our consciousness will soon reveal its true power and purpose.

 

Could some of the aspects of this movie have been better? Yes. But all in all it was entertaining, moving, and interesting. The writing by M. Night Shyamalan was wonderful. The acting by Paul Giamatti was believable. The supporting cast could have been developed more – perhaps even downsized. But it is certainly a movie worth watching, if for nothing else, its underlying meaning and symbolism.

About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

