The Trouble with Intuition

Standard
Ever since I can remember I have had this glaring intuition. Its not like I can read minds or predict the future, by any means. But I have always been able to sense when a person is lying, when people are talking about me, when there is a tension in the room, and I can usually sense a person’s true feelings. Almost like an empath of sorts. I believe this is all wrapped up in my heightened sense of being. I feel everything. I notice if my blood pressure raises a point. I notice it my temperature drops a degree. I can feel every little thing. I believe this is what causes my anxiety, allergies, and possibly even my tachycardia (due to the sensitivity to adrenaline). I am simply over aware. Over sensitive, physically, mentally, and emotionally. As I have been sifting through these possibilities, I have mainly focused on the negative perspectives of this ‘malady’. One of the unfortunate side effects is this damn intuition.
 
I can simply look at a person’s face and know they are being dishonest in some way. I can stand next to a person and sense that they have been talking poorly about me. I can seem to feel a person’s embarressment, saddness, jealousy, anger, what have you, in a way that isn’t obvious to most people.
 
It is hard to maintain relationships with people because of this. I try to always be genuine and authentic. I think that is very important. But how genuine can you be when you know ~  just somehow know ~ that they are being dishonest or betraying you in someway.
 
I guess you just keep up appearances. Be civil. Stand tall. That’s all I can do I suppose. After all, why waste energy on people you cannot trust. It is simply not worth the time.
 
Oh..and if you are wondering if your name crossed my mind while writing this…then yes, it probably did.
About Heather Rayne

I am a mom, wife, writer, volunteer, eater of food, lover of animals and avid TV enthusiast. I am opinionated, honest, compassionate and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and even a little bitchy at times. I say what I mean and my filter is often dysfunctional. With me, what you see is what you get. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time but I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I do hope you enjoy my site. Thanks for visiting and have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

