The Silverstein Brass Band Strikes Again

Standard

It began in 1973. 3 guys decided to perform some Christmas carols on Monument Square in Downtown Racine. And that was the formation of the Silverstein Brass Band and their annual holiday flash mobs.

A group of about 20 or so guys get together every year, dust off their drums, trumpets and trombones and head to the streets to share some holiday cheer. They go from store to store and surprise people with their impromptu and unannounced performances of Christmas tunes.

Many of the members were a part of the Drum and Bugle Corps. Mostly, they are a bunch of friends who love their tradition.

They typically receive smiles and welcoming reactions. But over the years, they have been asked to leave and at one point even had the police called.

This year, they visited Kohls Department Store, Farm and Fleet, Pick N Save (the new one on 31) and Regency Mall. And like always, they had a blast.

Pictures and video below are from their appearance at Kohls.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About Heather Rayne

I am a freelance writer and a stay at home mother of one daughter, 8, and one step daughter, 13. I am opinionated, honest, and sensitive. I can also be difficult, hard headed and emotional. I consider myself to have a great sense of humor and am very attracted to that in others. I am striving to live an authentic life. I am attempting to learn how to find happiness in the now. I always have hope to be a better person. That being said - I can be vulgar, negative and bitchy. I say what I mean and my filter is dysfunctional. I have strong opinions and am quick to speak my mind. This can cause problems from time to time and I do not ever intend to hurt or offend anyone. With that - be warned. I hope you enjoy my sites. Have a swell day.

What's on your mind?

